Religion

Creative Continuity.

I was never the most practical child when it came to playing with toys. While other boys my age felt the need to pull the arms and legs off of their action figures in a pre-adolescent showing of physical dominance, I preferred to treat them more like ornaments. What was the point in using all of that energy to move their arms and legs manually, I thought, when I could make them do anything I wanted inside my head. All I had to do to make them real was look at them: from there, they took on a life of their own.

Not that I was terribly passive growing up. On the contrary, I would watch my favourite T.V. shows such as Power Rangers and (slightly later) Pokemon and, feeling dissatisfied with the storylines presented (believing, of course, that I could do so much better) I would proceed to write up my own version of events with myself as the central character because, after all, I was God in my own world. Inside my head I could create anything, a new universe governed by its own unique set of rules.

Why have I decided to give you the prospective first chapter of my autobiography? Do you really want to read about this kind of thing? Maybe not, but God certainly does.

It was this realisation that took away any guilt I may have initially felt over my prideful attitude towards my own writing. Just to clarify, creativity is one of the gifts that God has seen fit to bless me with and writing is the way in which it expresses itself through me (in this case, I am the middle man, with God in charge and writing being the result of His gift – I am merely the willing tool, but oh what a great privilege that is). You see, I look to God as my main inspiration: He is the ultimate creator. “All things were made by him, and without him was not any thing made that was made.” (John 1: 3) He is also the only true original creator. If there’s one thing Christians cannot disagree on, it is this. The very first line of the entire Bible establishes the fact; “In the beginning God created the heaven and the earth.” (Genesis 1: 1)

From there, Genesis goes on to further glorify God’s own creativity, detailing His creation of night and day, of land and water, of animals and finally humans. Not only is it showing God’s creation in a practical sense, but it is also the beginning of a fantastic story that God himself is setting up before our eyes. He creates the characters and gives them a mind of their own to drive the story onward.

Genesis 1: 26 tells us that God took such pride in His creation of us that He made us in His image, with His likeness. Exodus 35: 31-32 expands on the gifts that God imparts to us, using Bezaleel as an example; “And he hath filled him with the spirit of God, in wisdom, in understanding, and in knowledge, and in all manner; (32) And to devise curious works.” Ephesians 2: 1o further implies that these gifts are given to all of us; “For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them.” Being created in God’s image and likeness also meant being created with a little of that very creativity inside each one of us! This is why it pleases God to see us being creative: we are using a gift that he placed inside us, and He loves to see us express it. Therefore, I think of writing as perhaps the best show of love that I can offer to God. Of course, it will be different for other people: God never intended for us all to be the same, either, and there are ideal creative gifts for each of us.

I’m no longer uncomfortable with having pride in my writing. If it is good enough to please God, it should be good enough to please me as well. Genesis 1: 31 tells us that “God saw every thing that he had made, and, behold, it was good.” This includes YOU. God freely gives us our gifts; He likes to see us enjoy them in the same way that He enjoys the result of His own work. So long as you remain humble enough to continually thank Him for it, you’ll only see your gifts grow.

“Thou art worthy, O Lord, to receive glory and honour and power: for thou hast created all things, and for thy pleasure they are and were created.” – Revelation 4: 11.

Leave a Reply

