Uncategorized

Outward Bound.

I am really tired right now.

With that in mind, this will be kept short, which I’m sure you’re all overjoyed about after my last two essay-long posts. I wanted to write this entry now, you see, or the project I had planned for this week would never have started.

This week, I’m going to be writing a series of posts that centre on some of the most hotly debated topics within Christianity and the church. For those of you who aren’t aware, I will become a (New) Frontier Project student from September until next June, working on a voluntary basis with my community church in Portsmouth. More details of this will become apparent throughout the week, but for now all you need to know is that it’s a year of total faith, humbleness and servitude to God; letting Him guide your path rather than deciding your own. These are attributes that I have (to varying extents) seen in myself already, but the year will be about nurturing those things and indeed growing in the skills that please God. As for this upcoming week, I shall present my current thoughts and views on the big issues that I can see arising from the year ahead. Then, when the year is up, perhaps I will look back to see how those very thoughts and views may have altered, or equally to see which things I was wholeheartedly correct about. Of course, no biblical argument would have merit were it not grounded with cited evidence from God’s word itself, so I will back up each of my arguments to the best of my current spiritual knowledge and ability (citations will usually be taken from the King James version). Essentially, I will be taking each issue and mixing my own thoughts in with what the Bible says about it. The issues I shall cover are as follows:

25th – Wealth (and I don’t just mean ‘money’ here)
26th – Creativity (arguably God’s greatest gift…and the most temperamental)
27th – Marriage/ Sex
28th – Pain/ Suffering
29th – Forgiveness (a lot tougher for many Christians than they’d like to admit)
30th – Depression and Mental illness.

Now, originally I envisaged writing about a full seven issues for seven days, but I’m kind of cheating a bit by including this brief entry in that. Besides, God created seven days so we could use one of them for resting. Nonetheless, I reserve the right to throw another issue in there to catch you off guard. You know how I like doing that sort of thing?

Leave a Reply

