Uncategorized

And Now For Something Completely Different.

Hands up who’s missed me?!

Yes, thank you at the back. Now, let’s talk business.

The only thing more unsettling than reviewing six Hollywood movies in a row is actually giving four of them a decent score. My website is starting to look like a Hollywood promotional campaign, which really isn’t rubbing off well on me and my state of mind.

So to rectify the situation, I’ve decided to turn my attentions to another national cinema, that of Japan, as I creatively dub next week ‘J-horror week’. Running from Friday 8th to Friday 15th July, I will review (at least) one contemporary example of Japanese horror a day, including well known films such as Ring and Ju-On: The Grudge, through to more cult products like manga adaptation Uzumaki and zombie musical The Happiness of the Katakuris. The week may even end on a pleasant surprise for you video game fans out there.

But if you can’t wait that long to end your Hollywood hangover, by all means check out my recent Memento review, I’m certainly not going to put you off doing that. For those who don’t know Memento, it’s directed by Christopher Nolan, who has since made a film about dreaming, called Inception… Have I mentioned I reviewed that one as well?

And please, if you’re afraid that you’ve missed some sort of big event in my life through my tiny little two week absence, rest assured you didn’t. Otherwise, I’m sure I would have been able to sufficiently motivate myself to write about it on here.

P.S. My first week prediction of Susan Ma winning The Apprentice this year is looking good. Perhaps I should have mentioned that at the time rather than leaving it until now, making it look like I’ve jumped on the bandwagon. Because I’m certainly not one to do that. Oh no.

Leave a Reply

