Uncategorized

“I’d rather be a protagonist.”

For anyone who feels the delirious desire to, for some unknown reason, actually enjoy reading what I write, I recommend you check out the work of the guy who convinced me through his own off-the-wall reviewing style that the things I write could, on the off chance, be found at least a little entertaining.

Yahtzee Croshaw has been mentioned around these parts in the past, but the reason I direct you towards Zero Punctuation and his first novel Mogworld now is that, this Friday, the new material arriving on my website has a lot to do with both of these products.

Truth be told, had I not stumbled upon Zero Punctuation last August (in early preparation for my dissertation, of all things), there’s a large chance that I would not have set up a website at all and consequently you would not all be experiencing the euphoric joy of reading these words right now; a result of that pesky domino effect you hear people talking about without ever thinking it could affect you.

Though I wouldn’t say he directly affected my style (I was talking like this long before I knew there were others in the world like me), what he did do was make me see things in a new light, opening my eyes to possibilities I had not previously considered and giving me the confidence I needed to reach for something bigger.

Of course, that was before things went wrong as I seemed to reach too high too early, and as a result I ended up having a bigger confidence crisis than ever.

But the past eight or so months have presented a steep learning curve for me, and I think my writing is now more accomplished than ever because of it. This is the reason I’m doing something that I would usually consider seriously counter-productive: I’m going to review a review (or, more precisely, review series). The ZP series, however, consists of reviews that are not exactly conventional, and those who have experience of it will understand how and why it is possible to write about it.

As for Mogworld, let’s just say there’s nothing heroic about the main protagonist, Jim. All he wants to do is die, but achieving that aim proves to be inconveniently difficult for him. From Friday, you can find the review here.

In other news, I’m still very poor (in monetary terms). I glance out my window now and see even the sun has deserted me, replaced by the general afternoon dullness that comes with customary large black clouds looming overhead. I find it hard writing through the depressive look and feel of it all.

Looks like summer’s officially arrived.

Leave a Reply

